International Association of Refrigerated Warehouses Elects New Officers and Board Members

(ALEXANDRIA, VA, May 10, 2017) – David O’Brien (Doboy Cold Stores, Hemmant, Queensland, Australia) was elected as the 2017-2018 Chairman of the International Association of Refrigerated Warehouses (IARW) Board of Directors on April 25, 2017. As the new chairman and the first Australian to chair the board in decades, O’Brien plans to focus on the Lead the Cold Chain aspect of the organization’s strategic plan; specifically, how the cold chain can be developed and employed to maximize food rescue and help feed the less fortunate throughout the world.

“After learning that the world produces enough food to feed 10 billion people yet there are 800 million people chronically undernourished, I realized the tremendous impact that cold chain development can have on feeding the hungry,” O’Brien said. “Too often food is lost because of an underdeveloped cold chain and all of us at GCCA can change that. I look forward to driving food rescue efforts forward over my next year as chairman.”

IARW is the third-party temperature-controlled warehousing Core Partner of the Global Cold Chain Alliance (GCCA). It dedicates itself to promoting best practices in the temperature-controlled warehousing and logistics industry through research, industry benchmarking, networking, and education. IARW members work closely with members of the World Food Logistics Organization (WFLO), another GCCA Core Partner, to improve food systems, specifically in relation to the safe, efficient, and reliable movement of perishable products to the global community.

O’Brien will be joined on the board by new IARW officers Vice Chairman Doug Harrison (VersaCold Logistics Services, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada), and Treasurer Andy Janson (Hanson Logistics, St. Joseph, Michigan, USA).

Also elected to serve three-year terms on the IARW Board are directors-at-large Harry Halpert (MTC Logistics, Baltimore, Maryland, United States) and Neal Rider (AGRO Merchants Group, Dallas, Texas, United States).

Rich Bauer (South East Cold Storage, Miramar, Florida, United States) was elected to represent the Southeastern Chapter.

The new officers and board members were appointed to their board positions at the annual 126th IARW-WFLO Convention, held April 22-25 in California.

View a complete list of IARW and WFLO Board Members.

Photos of the 2017-2018 IARW and WFLO Chairmen:

  • Download a photo of David O’BrienCaption: 2017-2018 IARW Chairman David O’Brien, Managing Director, Doboy Cold Stores, Hemmant, Australia
  • Download a photo of the 2017-2018 IARW and WFLO Officers – Caption: 2017-2018 Officers of the IARW Board and WFLO Board of Governors (from l to r) – Nick Pedneault, WFLO Chairman, Congebec Logistics; Paul Henningsen, WFLO Vice Chairman, Henningsen Cold Storage; Don Dick, WFLO Treasurer, Dick Cold Storage; Doug Harrison, IARW Vice Chairman, VersaCold Logistics Services; Andy Janson, IARW Treasurer, Hanson Logistics; and David O’Brien, IARW Chairman, Doboy Cold Stores

# # #

Contact: Laura Poko, Director of Marketing & Communications, GCCA at +1 703 373 4300 or


IARW promotes best practices in temperature-controlled warehousing and logistics industry through research, industry benchmarking, networking, and education. IARW also advocates for members in legislative and regulatory arenas. IARW is an official Core Partner of the Global Cold Chain Alliance, which serves as the focused voice of the cold chain industry, representing 1,300 member companies in 75 countries. For more information about IARW and GCCA, visit

Monday, May 8, 2017