Don Schlimme Future Leader Award

Organized by the Global Cold Chain Alliance, the Don Schlimme Future Leader Award recognizes outstanding young professionals in the North American cold storage industry. The award is named in honor of Donald V. Schlimme, Ph.D, who passed away in 2012 and was a longtime member of the GCCF (formerly WFLO) Scientific Advisory Committee (1983-2012) and a GCCF Staff Advisor for many of those years. He was an expert in food science and cold storage and was committed to sharing his extensive knowledge.

Winners of the Don Schlimme Future Leader Award

Kulsoom Khan

Congebec, Inc.

Tamara Palefsky

United States Cold Storage

Zeshan Hassan

Congebec Inc.

Michael Fischer

RLS Logistics

Marquel Broussard

New Orleans Cold Storage

Matt Toogood

United States Cold Storage

Colin Longmuir

Henningson Cold Storage Co.

Joey Williams

Nordic Logistics and Warehousing

Award Eligibility

The Don Schlimme Future Leader Award recognizes outstanding young professionals who show potential for future career advancement but have not yet risen to top-level leadership positions within their company. There is a maximum of two nominees per company per year. To be eligible for the award, applicants must meet the following criteria:

  • Be a U.S. or Canadian employee of a GCCA Warehouse member company.
  • Be 35 years of age, or younger, at the time of the award application deadline.
  • Possess a minimum of three years of work experience in any sector of the industry, including (but not limited to): operations, administration, human resources, engineering, accounting, sales, customer service, or management.
  • Possess insight into their company's values, policies, and strategic direction.
  • Demonstrate excellence in their work and show potential to advance further in their career.

How to Apply

This year's competition will take place during the Policy Forum from June 19 – 21, 2023, in Washington, DC. Applicants for the award will be evaluated by a panel of industry leaders and selected finalists will be invited to present at Policy Forum. Don Schlimme Future Leader Award Recipient will be eligible to compete against other GCCA future leaders from around the world in the 2023 Global NextGen competition. That award will happen in-person at the GCCA Convention in September 2023.

Interested young professionals who meet the eligibility criteria should independently complete this application by March 31, 2023.

If you have questions about the Don Schlimme Future Leader Award, please contact Jenna Campbell, Manager of Training and Development.