Built by the Best Award

The Built by the Best Award acknowledges association members for their expertise and innovation in constructing, renovating and/or modernizing controlled 

environment buildings. The award is open to project teams comprised of Contractor/Design-Build companies, Processor/End-User/Warehouse/Third-Party Logistics companies, and supplier sub-contractors that are association members. Any of these parties can submit an application.  Buildings recognized with the Built by the Best Award seal represent some of the most innovative and complex facilities built according to the intricate, unique standards set forth by the controlled environment industry.  The award was created by the Controlled Environment Building Association (CEBA), a Core Partner of the Global Cold Chain Alliance (GCCA).

Congratulations to the recipient of the 2019 Built by the Best Award – Tippmann Innovation ...For their project with Wolverine Packaging Co. To view the press release with project details, click here.



The two other finalists for the 2019 Built by the Best Award were:

  • Primus Builders for United States Cold Storage in Denton, TX. 
  • United Insulated Structures Corp. for United States Cold Storage in Lebanon, IN.

Read project summaries for each of the finalists here.



Submitting an Application

Award Eligibility

This award is open to project teams comprised of Contractor/Design-Build companies and Processor/End-User/Warehouse/Third-Party Logistics companies that meet the following criteria: 

  • Contractor or design-build company must be a member. Processor/End User/Warehouse/Third-Party Logistics company does not need to be a member. 

  • Representative from customer company (processor, end-user, warehouse, etc.) is preferred during presentation alongside contractor or design/build company at annual CEBA Conference & Expo. Award candidates that are not able to present at the conference with members from both sides of the project are disqualified from winning.

  • Building must maintain a controlled environment.

  • Teams must have completed a new build or expansion within the timeframe of January 2018 - July 2019.

  • Submission must be received by the submission deadline. Late applications will not be accepted.

  • Project must have been completed on or ahead of schedule.

Submission Deadline

Project teams must complete the application process within the submission period.  No late applications will be accepted.

Submission Deadline: July 13, 2020

Application Process & Requirements

Complete the application packet in full by the deadline. Applications may be submitted by downloading the PDF application packet and emailing it to clada@gcca.org.

All teams must complete the application form in full with all signatures of permission for all project team members. A detailed explanation of the project must be provided. Special consideration will be paid to project complexity, challenges overcome, innovation, sustainability, cold chain impact, and contribution to society. Participation by CEBA members (click here for a CEBA membership list) in addition to the contractor/design-build firm will be noted. Photos and client testimonials are encouraged.

Judging Process

Applications will be assessed during a formal scorecard review process conducted by the Selection Panel (made up of members of the CEBA Business Development & Marketing Committee).

CEBA Member Participation 20
Project Complexity 25
Innovation 25
Project Management 20
Sustainability Consideration 5
Contribution to larger society or temperature-controlled supply chain 5
Total 100


                    The 2020 Built by the Best application will be available in May!



If you have questions about the award, submission process, or anything else related to the CEBA Built by the Best Award, please contact Cathy Lada at clada@gcca.org.